Let 2014 begin

20 Jan

I didn’t imagine blogging becoming part of my life.

I never thought so many people would read my posts in the past year. Never anticipated the number of my twitter followers would grow from the 24 people I actually knew, to the 350 people whom I became friends with. I never imagined finding a place I belong and becoming a part of the online community for science communication.

I didn’t realize blogging would make my voice a little louder, my imagination grander, and my stance for what I think is right much stronger.

I didn’t think that with all the random thoughts I have, thoughts connecting my life to science, to research, to the society, this blog becomes me, and I become the blog.

I once told a friend that I wrote my blog posts like my diary. This is about half right – the other half, I wrote them like my research thesis. With every comment posted by others, my heart beats somewhat faster. Whenever a friend says “hey I read that post!” A smile floats to the surface – it’s a rush.

I want to thank the friend who practically pushed and shoved me into blogging and twitter. The friends who watched me”grew up” online. The friends who contributed ideas, many of which became actual posts on this blog. And the friends who read my blog. All of you whom I have met, or I haven’t met and hopefully will meet and chat in person one day. Thank you, you are awesome.

Last but not the least, I would like to give myself a little pat on the back. Theresa, thanks for being the stubborn idiot who thinks that you have more than 24 hours a day and isn’t afraid of making some mistakes here and there. Thanks for wanting a little more. Thanks for saying no when you should, and saying yes when you really shouldn’t.

Now, let 2014 begin.

7 Responses to “Let 2014 begin”

  1. Mademoiselle Scientist January 20, 2014 at 11:20 am #

    Welcome to 2014. I’m excited to see what this year will bring.

    • Terrific T January 20, 2014 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks! I am very excited too 😀

  2. Artem Kaznatcheev January 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    I am glad to see you blogging, tweeting, and even occasionally G+ing. I look forward to another year of awesome posts. Do you have any specific series planned? Some posts in the pipeline?

    • Terrific T January 31, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

      I have always wanted to write about clinical trials (MS liberation therapy) and vaccination but haven’t had a chance yet. There will likely be a few posts about transferable skills developed during graduate school. In addition, I will be heading to Chicago for the International Public Science Events Conference and AAAS in a week so ideas will probably come about by that time. I do owe others many things (feature, podcast, etc etc) so will need to try to make up for that 😀

      So many things to do, so little time!

      • bob February 6, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

        great topic, clinical trials,,, I am a long time survivor of HIV,,, and would not be alive today without clinical trials,,,

        • Terrific T February 6, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

          There are so many things about clinical trials worth writing about – how to interpret results, making data available, when should a clinical trial be funded (or not be funded), what are the stages of clinical trials…knowing that there are interests definitely pushes me to think about it more.

          Really appreciate your comment! And thanks for reading 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s been too long! | Science, I Choose You! - August 8, 2014

    […] this year, I mentioned that I would like to write something about clinical trials. With the latest Ebola outbreak, there are a few things I want to write about. Is it difficult to […]

Leave a Reply

