What it’s like to be a scientist 24/7!

4 Jul

Being a scientist is a full-time job and more. It sounds a bit nerdy, but many of us think about science and research all the time – like, all the time! I once caught myself thinking about science during a bread making class (this, by the way, is still one of the most popular blog posts on this site). Science often creeps up during random bar conversations. I also used to dream about my experiments when I was still in graduate school.

So when Andrea Kirkwood, an Assistant Professor at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology, tweeted this a few days ago (Re-tweeted by Sarah Boon), I could not stop laughing…

And later on, I found another one myself

This spun into a little twitter conversation between Sarah (writer and professor in Hydrology, University of Lethbridge), Glendon (scientific artist and illustrator at the Scientific America), and I…

Hahaha! I guess we are all pretty passionate about our science 😀

2 Responses to “What it’s like to be a scientist 24/7!”

  1. Artem Kaznatcheev July 4, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    I completely agree, it is also why it doesn’t make sense to ask a scientist: “how many hours a week do you work?” At least for me, almost every moment I am awake, I am thinking about math and science. You could say that isn’t work, but then you are really cutting down on what ‘work’ theorists can do. So the answer is then: “every hour I am awake, and maybe more.”

    • Terrific T July 5, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      Things got better after graduate school, but is getting worse now because of blogging (“hm…what can I do to combine science with this and write about it on the blog”). Oh well.

Leave a Reply

